Helpless stare

Helpless stare

 

The cruelty, I see, I hear

Does nobody care?

Stood by, childlike, struck with fear

And naught but helpless stare

“What can I do?” They think, They cry

“I want to help, I care”

But I can do nothing, so with a sigh

I stand and helpless stare

Another Death!

Oh why? Oh Why?

Why take a life?

A loved one cries

The cruelty, the pain, the fear

The hurt we al do share

You stood, I stood, we stood right here

And so, did helpless stare.

The planes, they crashed,

The towers, they smashed,

To the ground they fell,

Burnt, bitter shell

Lives snuffed out

In screams and shouts

They cried and ran

The fear began

And we, while safe did care…

And we did naught but stand and stare.

The grief, the pain,

The death, the shame

As while I know

I truly care

I can do naught

But helpless stare.

 

This is a poem that reflects on the world, and how we seem helpless to help people who need us.

About lollabu

I'm a third year university student at DMU. I'm an avid musician and I love to write.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment